About Contra Dance

Schedule
        -or-
Contra Calendar

Maps to Dances

Getting our Newsletter

Contact Big Scioty

Links to Other Dances

Open Band

Link to FacebookLike us on Facebook

Link to Winter Warmup Weekend

Contra Dancing in Columbus Ohio

We have three dance series running in Central Ohio!

Our merged color coded schedule follows!

banner

Big Scioty Contra Dance
First Congregational Church
444 East Broad St. in downtown Columbus
Beginners' Contra Dance Instruction at 7:30 PM
Contra Dance 8:00-11:00 PM
Walk-ins $8.00, Members $7.00, Ages 12-24 $4.00
Children under 12 - Free


banner

All Soles Contra Dance (link)
First Unitarian Universalist Church
93 W. Weisheimer Rd., Columbus Ohio
Beginners' Contra Dance Instruction at 7:30 PM
Contra Dancing 8:00 to 10:30 PM
$8.00 Adults, $4.00 ages 12-24, Children under 12 Free,
Special All SqUUares dances in February, March and April 2014
Child care provided


banner

Clintonville Contra Dances
Clinton Heights Lutheran Church
15 Clinton Heights Ave.
7:30-10:30 PM
Open mic for callers
Music by Three Rivers String Band
$5.00


Columbus Contra Dance Schedule

Autumn 2014

December 5,6,7 Big Scioty
Winter Warmup

Friday December 12 All Soles
Richard Ades from Columbus OH calling with
The Timbre Wolves from Columbus, OH

Saturday December 20 Clintonville
Open Mic and Three Rivers String Band

Winter - Spring 2015

Friday January 2, Big Scioty
Kristen Planeaux from Cincinnati calling with
Band TBA

Saturday January 3 Clintonville
Open Mic and Three Rivers String Band

Friday January 9 All Soles
Jan Phillips from Columbus OH calling with
Three Rivers String Band from Columbus OH

Saturday January 17, Big Scioty
Darlene Underwood from Cincinnati calling with
Zeke's Fancy from Athens OH

Friday January 30 All Soles
Zesty Contra Dance
Gaye Fifer from Pittsburgh PA calling with
The Ripples from Cincinnati

Saturday January 31 Clintonville
Waltzing with Gaye Fifer
Workshops 3:00-5:00 PM
5:30-6:45 PM Potluck Dinner
7:00-9:00 PM Evening Waltz
Three Rivers String Band

Saturday February 7, Big Scioty
Frank Buschelman from Cincinnati calling with
Monster Pie

Friday February 13 All Soles
Barry Dupen from Indianapolis IN calling with
Jake Loew and Henry Barnes

Saturday February 21, Big Scioty

Saturday February 28 Clintonville
Open Mic and Three Rivers String Band

Saturday March 7, Big Scioty
Paul Balliet calling with
Intellectual Property from Lexington/Louisville

Friday March 20 All Soles
Dave Notman from Columbus OH calling with
The Back Porch Swing Band from Columbus, OH

Saturday March 21, Big Scioty
Richard Ades from Columbus calling with
Big Fun from Ann Arbor

Saturday March 28 Clintonville
No March dance. Join us at the Pigtown Fling

Friday April 10 All Soles
Andy Shewmon from Columbus, OH calling with
Band TBA

Saturday April, 18, Big Scioty
Callers Showcase
Join us for a cavalcade of callers, ranging from brand-new to old-pros. Callers will be working together to plan a cohesive and varied program that maximizes dancer enjoyment. If you are a caller who would like to participate please send Ryan Smith (smithra@twirlyshirts.com) an e-mail no later than March 23rd.
The Ripples from Cincinnati

Saturday April 25 Clintonville
Open Mic and Three Rivers String Band

Saturday May 2, Big Scioty
Tamara Loewenthal from Bloomington IN calling with
The Hoosier Crackerjacks

Friday May 8 All Soles
Tamara Loewenthal from Bloomington IN calling with
Band TBA

Saturday May 23 Clintonville
Open Mic and Three Rivers String Band

Summer 2015

Saturday June 20 All Soles

Sunday June 28 Clintonville
Comfest
at the Live Arts Stage, Time TBA
Three Rivers String Band
various Columbus callers

Saturday July 25 All Soles

Saturday August 15 All Soles
Past Bookings at Big Scioty and All Soles
Thanks to Crossword Solutions Inc. for donating web space for bigscioty.com.

This page was last updated on by Harold Cheyney